Moral Defibrillator

I take upon myself Dr. Barber’s challenge to be a “moral defibrillator of our time.” I have “a heart for the poor and a heart for the vulnerable,” for I am both myself. I stand up because I have been given a prophetic voice to do so.

Rev. Dr. William Barber, II’s DNC 2016 Speech inspires me to use my voice to “stand up” and talk about the heart problem in our country, in my state, in my county and in my community. From my lived experience as a former police officer, former single specialized foster care parent, current ordained Baptist minister and a black woman residing in the United States of America, I offer weekly Heart2Heart blogs about former and current issues that threaten the heart of our democracy. I take upon myself Dr. Barber’s challenge to be a “moral defibrillator of our time.” I have “a heart for the poor and a heart for the vulnerable,” for I am both myself. I stand up because I have been given a prophetic voice to do so.

On July 29, 2016, the day after Dr. Barbers speech, I posted on Facebook the following testament of my vulnerability as one with an invisible disability: “I received an Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator (ICD) during surgery on March 19, 2015. As I approach another birthday, I certainly am thankful to my Creator for life, health and strength of a reasonable portion. I can tell you the benefit of having a defibrillator, as Rev William Barber so eloquently described at the DNC. I can also tell you, with every day the Almighty gives me breath, I will speak liberation and truth for such a time as this. I am above ground til this day, and for however more I am given, for a reason. I do not count my days, this lil short black woman child of God is making my borrowed days count.”

Join me weekly for Heart2Heart discussions meant to challenge you to become a moral defibrillator also.

Copyright © 2016 by DV’s Heart2Heart™. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

